Phyllis Schieber Author

Women's Fiction by Phyllis Schieber

More yoga and more writing and a Cherokee fable

I have wonderful yoga teachers. I get something different from each of them, just as I get something different from each of the authors I admire. Yoga makes me feel strong and brave. I find that I open myself up to the practice with a receptiveness that surprises me. I leave my cynicism at the door when I enter the studio. I want to learn more, to do better, to feel accomplished. I try to concentrate on my breathing as I listen to the teacher’s instructions… but my mind often wanders to my writing even as I try to bring my breath back to my heart. It is not so much of a battle as it is a gentle tug of war. I always come away from yoga class with something deeper I can give to my work, so I allow the  push and pull… yield to it more than resist it.

Today in yoga class, my teacher shared this Cherokee fable. I love the story because it speaks to my own wolves:

One evening, a grandfather was teaching his young grandson about the internal battle that each person faces.

“There are two wolves struggling inside each of us,” the old man said.

“One wolf is vengefulness, anger, resentment, self-pity, fear, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance.

The other wolf is love, joy, peace, generosity, kindness, friendship, compassion, faithfulness, hope, truth.”

The grandson sat, thinking, then asked: “Which wolf wins, Grandfather?'”

His grandfather replied, “The one you feed.”

January 24, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

