Phyllis Schieber Author

Women's Fiction by Phyllis Schieber

And More Rejection

Sometimes  it is just impossible to understand how anyone gets anything published. I know that what matters most is the work, the commitment to my art, but still… My wonderful and supportive agent sent The Manicurist out again to another editor. She read the manuscript and returned it with a glowing response to everything the previous editor had found unsatisfactory. In fact, the second editor found fault with the two aspects of the novel that the first editor liked best. The second editor referred to me as a, “talented writer.” Now, I ask you, does that make any sense at all? Of course not. It makes no sense at all, and I have no choice but to accept it. I don’t really hold out much hope that this particular novel will be sold even though I believe it may be my best work yet. I think it is richly written and tells a most unusual story, but I know what the fiction market is like these days. Yet, I continue to write. A friend, an exceptional and struggling artist, once advised me, “Don’t give up the struggle.”
The only response to that is, “Never.”

Onward writers.

December 5, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | ,

4 Comments »

  1. Onward writers.
    Thanks for sharing this. It sometimes needs to be said.

    Comment by Cassandra Jade | December 5, 2009 | Reply

  2. Thank you, Cassandra Jade! Just keep writing!

    Comment by phyllis | December 5, 2009 | Reply

  3. The truth can be hard to sell, but it must be written.

    drtombibey.wordpress.com

    Comment by Dr. Tom Bibey | December 6, 2009 | Reply

    • The truth is always hard to sell, but I’ll keep writing! I hope you will too.

      Comment by phyllis | December 6, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

