Phyllis Schieber Author

Women's Fiction by Phyllis Schieber

Creating New Characters

I’ve been writing these last few weeks though I haven’t anything to show for it other than what’s going on inside my head. And there is quite a lot going on inside there. I am getting to know my new characters, and it is a leisurely and lovely process. I have most of their names narrowed down. I have physical descriptions of them that allow me to see them with reasonable clarity, and I am able to differentiate them on that basis. It takes time to get to know new characters. They can be troublesome, but they can also be eager in their willingness to take form. This is a new and important part of the process. I will know when it is time to begin to write because they will start to compete for my attention, and I will need to make order. It’s coming soon. I can feel the tension, the wonderful sense of urgency that accompanies a new project. I plant my feet firmly on the ground as I ready myself for the people I will be likely to spend the next two years with on a day-to-day basis. I am excited, and I believe they are ready as well.

November 19, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

