Phyllis Schieber Author

Women's Fiction by Phyllis Schieber

Procrastination

I am about three chapters away from the end of my new novel. It’s so close that I can feel the sense of victory, and yet I find countless ways to procrastinate. This past week, for example, I took out two shelves in the refrigerator and cleaned them. Last week, I cleaned my closet. I know procrastination is a writer’s affliction, but I have difficulty really understanding why it is so hard to finish a novel as I get closer and closer to the end. I know that part of it is fear. What will I write next? What if I can’t think of anything to write? I worry and worry until it seems to make more sense to simply stretch out this project as long as possible. Of course, that is just as ridiculous as worrying about something that hasn’t happened. The cycle is brutal, yet seemingly unavoidable.
The other night as I was dozing off to sleep, I finally found a way to deal with a character who had been introduced early in the novel and needed to be brought back and dealt with in some way. The idea was simple enough, and I felt my solution was quite brilliant. I jotted the idea down in the notebook I keep by my bed, and I was eager to move forward the following day. I reworked some of the narrative and seamlessly brought the character back in without much fanfare. I worked diligently, almost smug with self-satisfaction. I had overcome a major obstacle.
The next day, however, I was back to procrastinating, back to wondering if I should clean out some drawers in the bedroom bureau.

July 25, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. There’s something about 3 or 4 am at my house to help me discover awesome new ways to fix a problem in my writing 🙂 I also had to laugh about the notebook by the bed. I’ve heard some people don’t do that — can you imagine 🙂

    Nikki Leigh

    Comment by litekepr | July 26, 2009 | Reply

    • Are there really people who don’t keep a notebook on the night table?

      Comment by phyllis53 | July 26, 2009 | Reply

  2. Yes, those morning hours……..reveal important things….even in dreams…keep going Phyllis…….I enjoyed reading the process you are going through………very much like me, but for different undertakings……….
    ugh, procrastination………..reminds me of when I had to correct papers at NHS……..

    Comment by Annette | July 26, 2009 | Reply

    • Grading papers was a nightmare. I’d love to hear about your creative process sometime!

      Comment by phyllis53 | July 26, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

